Worth the wait

It’s funny that after you read good articles about food, where does it come from, etc…you pay more attention to your food choices and give some thought when getting a tomato from the salad bar. However, in the end it always comes down to people and how are we going to change what we are currently doing to have a better future (adaptability- natural systems), to eat purer foods.
I heard today in class a quote about how much Americans like convenience and, it got be thinking about how truth it is; from the simplest things as baby food. When I mentioned that I actually cook and puree my daughter’s soup it amazes people, then I go into explaining that it is so simple, you put whichever vegetables you want in the pressure cooker, plus meat, some water, then you close the lid and 20 min later it’s ready! But I guess it is easier to go and buy the processed Gerber food at the supermarket- why then do we want more farmers’ markets? Or local groceries?


There’s an entire lifestyle that needs to change, Todd Murphy took that leap and he is challenged everyday by it, John Mackey took that step and is criticized by it. Do we really want sun-farming or we just say we want it because it’s the right thing to say or do?
We are in need of people willing to take the leap, people willing to not have watermelon in the winter months because it is not the season for it. Are we really going to buy the less processed food and process ourselves, even if it is less convenient?
Time is money, one may say, but if you died from eating pesticides, what good is your money in the bank? I guess, you could have a nice funeral!
In the end, Murphy and Mackey are not going to make that much of a difference, because in this country of millions we need more than a few thousand ordering croissants for the baker to finally add that to the menu. (inside joke),maybe we do need the Victory Garden, maybe we do need the government to step in and change policies, practices.
If we take a closer look perhaps the eight year rotation is not such a bad idea…Patience is a virtue- remember that when grandma is cooking, no one rushes her, because good things are worth the wait…plus what good is to make that extra dollar if you cannot spend it?

5 Responses

  1. I see the reason for growing the “farmers-market business as an alternative solution, an easy way out, or a compromise if you will. Americans want things easy, but we are also starting to want quality. And it seems food at farmers markets can give the best of both worlds. In the markets in Lewisburg, the food is not only cheaper than the super-markets, but seems more natural and fresh. Why wouldn’t you go!

  2. I love eating fresh fruits and fresh vegetables, and there is nothing better than eating a cooked meal made by grandma from scratch, but I have to admit convenience is king in my world. Even going downtown to a farmers market in the spring or fall seems like a hassle. Getting in the car to drive to Weiss, even though the prices are astronomically cheaper, is a huge burden compared to buying something at the Bison. We do need people to start the train moving when it comes to these things, but honestly until the benefits start outweighing the costs a little more, my meals will continue to include processed foods from the Bison and out of season tomatoes from the cafe.

  3. I would tend to agree with Megan. The opportunity cost–at least at an individual level–is too great to start growing and cooking my own food and meals. The food letter addressed to Obama makes some convincing points about creating a more localized food distribution system in the U.S. for both taste and national security reasons. But many of his suggestions, like bringing back victory gardens, I am not entirely agreement with. Most of us were born in a world where patience is not a virtue–it’s a hassle. Finding the patience to reorganizing my life around food is a hard sell.

  4. I will agree to some extent with Dave and Megan, and to some extent with Geoff and Anna.

    I learned how to cook when I came to the US. Mom was not around and the food here… not quite as tasteful, to say the least. I have walked to Weis many times to get ingredient to make my own food. It has always been worth the time. I have also shopped occasionally at the downtown markets, unfortunately they cannot afford to stock many of the vegetables that I need since they are not in demand locally.

    However, International Student Services, the office I now work for, stopped running shuttles to Weis after Wal-Mart moved. In the summer I walked to Weis a few times, but now I have given up. It is too inconvenient, and sometimes the produce is not available in the quantities I need (I am talking some of the more ‘exotic’ stuff I guess).

    So even though I very much resent Wal-Mart (and Parkhurst Dining) I have chosen to go on the weekly shuttle to Wal-Mart for the sake of convenience. I have to buy frozen and semi-processed produce sometimes, but I always get it…

  5. I agree with Megan and Dave, but I’m not proud to admit it. After living with a host family in Florence for a semester and seeing how they view food and meals in comparison to us, I wish more than anything that we could do it the way they do. The problem is that it would require a complete revamp of our culture, not just how we eat our meals. Typically, an Italian mom is expected to stay at home and take care of the house and meals…and it’s viewed as a very respectable role. That would be our first problem. My host mom walked to the open air market every single day around noon and spent the entire afternoon preparing a meal that would put any of our Thanksgivings to shame. I can’t even fathom taking that much time and putting that much effort into dinner every single night, but it’s how they do it and it works for them. I think that the competitiveness of our culture will continue to keep people in the workforce and out of the home, which would make it very difficult to take so much time everyday to prepare a healthy, fresh meal.

Leave a Reply

